Coat of Arms
Coat of arms was inspired by elements from the unique, natural, and historic heritage of Prince George. The Coat of Arms is used in ceremonies, for communication from the Mayor and Council, and in statutory publications.
The colour blue represents the waters of the rivers, and gold, the wealth and prosperity of the City and region. The two wavy bars are a reference to the rivers, Fraser and Nechako, flowing together. Above are two snowflake crystals that tie in with the motto of a city, in central British Columbia, through which the development of the North is taking place. In the base or point of the shield is a "fraise", French for strawberry. This was intended as a pun or play on the name of Simon Fraser.
The Crest rises above the shield. Here, the mural crown recalls a time when important cities were surrounded by a fortified wall. The railway wheel refers to the arrival of the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway in 1914 and the British Columbia Railway in 1952. At the top is a moose head.
The Compartment and Supporters
The compartment refers to the grassy mount upon which the supporters stand. It rises from blue and white wavy bars, which together with the salmon, are yet another reference to the rivers. The compartment is strewn with branches and local flora. The eagle and the osprey are local to the area. To make each of the latter unique to Prince George, they are differentiated by having their wings divided between two colours. Each bird wears a ducal coronet, a reminder that the name of the City was established in 1915 to honour His Royal Highness Prince George, Duke of Kent, the fourth son of King George V, during whose reign the City was founded.
The motto featured on the Coat of Arms is "Shaping a Northern Destiny."
The logo is the official signature for the City of Prince George. The Y-shaped base signifies the convergence or confluence of rivers, railways, and highways that occurs at Prince George. The fraise, which also appears on the Coat of Arms, accentuates the importance of the confluence and its hub-and-spoke shape symbolizes Prince George's place as the hub of the North. In combination, the base and the fraise make for a signature that literally "stands" tall and communicates the pride and pioneering spirit of northerners.
Mr. PG was first constructed in 1960 as a symbol of the importance of the forest industry to Prince George. That year he took part in the Prince George May Day parade and could speak and bow. In 1961, he was entered in the Kelowna Regatta and the Vancouver PNE Parade, and also traveled to Smithers. Two years later, he appeared the 1963 Grey Cup parade.
Today, Mr. PG stands at the junction of Highway 97 and Highway 16. He is 8.138 metres tall and his head is 1.5 metres in diameter.
Promoting Events with Mr. PG
Let Mr. PG promote your community event by having him display signage and/or hold a promotional flag. Permission can also be obtained to use an image of Mr. PG to promote non-profit community events.
The City provides this logo for use by community organizations that rely on volunteers. This logo can exist alongside the organizations' own logos to help promote, recruit, and celebrate volunteers.
Contact External Relations: 250-561-7727 for more information or apply to use the Volunteer City logo.