Awards & Recognition

Freedom of the City Award

The highest award City Council can bestow on an individual that recognizes exceptional merit and contribution.

On March 27, 2023, Council awarded the Freedom of the City to former City Councilor Murry Krause.  

Past recipients include:

  • Lyn Hall
  • Don Bassermann
  • Cliff Dezell
  • Shirley Gratton
  • Anne Martin
  • Colin Kinsley
  • John Backhouse
  • Garvin Dezell
  • Carrie Jane Gray
  • Harold Moffat
  • Rocky Mountain Rangers-Royal Canadian Army Cadets Corps
  • Pastor Lance Morgan
  • Ted Williams
  • Chief Justice Wilson
  • Peter Wilson